The questions players actually ask
Twelve questions, answered with what the store page and the demo actually establish. Where the official material does not cover something, the answer says so rather than guessing.
1. When does I Have Known You come out?
26 February 2027, according to the Steam store page. The app is flagged as coming soon, which means the date is announced but the game cannot be purchased yet.
2. Is there a demo?
Yes. It went live on 20 June 2026 during Steam Next Fest and is still listed on the store page. It is free and it is a separate download from the full game.
3. How much will it cost?
No price is listed. The store page has no price tag, no pre-order and no editions, so there is nothing to compare yet.
4. What platforms is it on?
Windows, macOS and Linux, all three listed as supported. The demo follows the same spread.
5. Is there a Chinese translation?
No. Steam lists English as the only supported language, so there is no Chinese interface or subtitle option at launch.
6. How long is the game?
The store page does not state a play time. The demo covers the opening arc, and the full release is the complete story, but no hour count is published.
7. How adult is it?
It is an adult visual novel. Steam puts an age check in front of the store page, the developer's warning says the game features adult content and mature themes, and the character dossiers include a Kinks field. This guide does not reproduce explicit material.
8. Who are the characters?
The demo's character screen lists seven: Ashley, Amy, Gina, Rose, Corry, Madeline and Ava, plus a My Profile entry for the protagonist. Ashley's dossier is the one shown open: age 26, private investigator.
9. What is the Journey system?
One of the four systems the developer names in the demo announcement. In the character screen it appears as a Journey Gallery tab, so it records progress per character rather than globally. The Journey page covers it in detail.
10. Do my demo choices carry over?
The store page says choices carry "weight into the full game", and the developer says the demo's systems will also be part of the full game. Whether that means an imported save or the same story starting state is not stated.
11. What is the game about?
A man returns to his hometown of Wildflower, a coastal town where a witch hunt took place 300 years ago. He reconnects with people from his past while the town's legend starts to stir again. The story page covers the setting.
12. Is it worth playing now?
The demo is free and it is the only way to judge the writing and the systems before 2027. If you like romance-driven visual novels with a mystery underneath, it is worth an evening. The is it worth it page is the longer answer.
Quick reference
| Question | Short answer |
|---|---|
| Release date | 26 February 2027 |
| Price | Not listed |
| Demo | Yes, since 20 June 2026 |
| Platforms | Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Languages | English only |
| Developer | Dotty Diaries |
| Cast size | Seven plus the player |
| Age rating | Adult, gated on Steam |
For the full guide index, go to all guides.
13. Does it work on Steam Deck?
Steam does not list Deck compatibility for the app, and the requirements panels are empty. A 2D visual novel with click controls is usually a comfortable fit, but the character screen is text-dense, so check legibility before a long session.
14. Is there voice acting?
The store page's language block lists English only and does not claim voice work. The demo is text and music, and nothing on the page suggests a voiced release.
15. Is there a physical edition?
None announced. There is no collector's edition, no boxed release and no merchandise listed on the store page.
16. Will the demo stay up after launch?
The store page does not say. Demos usually stay available after release, but the only reliable answer is to check the page on 26 February 2027.
17. Is the demo the same as the opening of the full game?
The developer describes it as the beginning of the story, expanded and improved from an earlier build. It is the opening arc rather than a side story, which is why the choices are framed as carrying into the release.
18. Where can I follow development?
The Steam news hub for the app is the only official channel. Following the store page puts announcements into your Steam activity feed, and the wishlist sends the release email.
Read next
- The demo from first click to last lineWalkthrough
- The Journey systemSystems
- Who is in WildflowerCharacters
- Reading the character profilesData